Ancedotal Evidence

Like many things on the interwebs, I discovered Patrick Kurp’s  Ancedotal Evidence through Andrew Sullivan’s blog. Krup is a writer and teacher in Bellevue, WA, and each day he posts about books and everyday life. It’s like entering into an ongoing conversation that began with a discussion of Dr. Johnson and has since morphed into a free flowing talk about everything else that’s good in this world. It’s a different model of blogging than I follow. I’m magpie like in what I place on the blog at times; I do see it as a kind of collection of things both erudite and ephemeral. Sometimes things that are of absolute immediacy to me are also things that I know have no lasting power beyond a few days. My political interests are very much part of who I am, but I also know that those posts are the ones that have no shelf life.The parts of the blog that stay for me are the photoessays, the music discussions, and the longer form essays. The rest of the blog shifts around these elements. I sometimes struggle to maintain a balance between those elements too. I like the real time documentary elements of blogging, but those parts also don’t allow for reflection usually. I like the ongoing features–song of the day, etc. But these things are the epitome of ephemeral. I would love to write more essays, but that kind of writing demands time (both in execution and in percolation) and does take away from the other writing I need to do. (There’s a Felicia Hemans and Blackwood‘s essay that needs to be finished this month.) All of this to say, I completely appreciate the kind of work that Kurp is capable of doing with his blog, and I’m a little envious to tell the truth. Nothing about Ancedotal Evidence is ephemeral to me. Today’s post, for instance, discusses the meaning of the word split, and then provides a new poem from Kay Ryan, “Splitting Ice.” I too like the line:

“But in
a person, one
foot will lift
and the split
resolve.”

 

Leave a Reply

