Song of the Day: Mumford and Sons, “Not in Nottingham”

Embarrassing if true story: I drove my mother absolutely crazy with the Disney book on tape version of Robin Hood when I was three. I apparently knew every song and sang them all. Nonstop. While she was pregnant with my brother. Dad was in Europe on a business trip. Oh, and it was the hottest summer on record. (I think that covers the lament; did I mention I was three and have no memory of doing any of these things.) At any rate, discovering that Mumford & Sons covered the melancholy ballad “Not in Nottingham” just made my day. As an added bonus, here’s Pete Dohtery’s haunting version of “Chim Chim Cheree.”

It really is no wonder I grew up to be such an anglophile; I really did spend my childhood watching the movies these songs come from.

Leave a Reply

