Song of the Day: Laura Marling, Mumford & Sons, and the Dharohar Project, “Meheni Rachi”

Laura Marling and Mumford & Sons are part of a new folk revival occurring in the UK right now. In general, I think there’s been more and more good folk music produced lately. I have odd standards for folk music. It can’t be too twangy or twee. There are times when I think I almost like She & Him, and then, nope, too twee. Laura Marling’s smokey alto, almost as perfect as Zooey Deschanel’s but not self-conscious, is never twee. I like the blend of musical styles here, which I think is what makes folk work. I also like these lyrics:

“Perhaps I’ll be a bird one day, if I’m good enough
And I’ll get up and fly away and give up all this stuff”

Leave a Reply

