Voices on Traveling

Posted, naturally, by Conor Friedersdorf (who has been hitting it out of the park at the Daily Dish in his discussion of talk radio) is this thoughtful meditation on the benefits of travel, particularly alone, by Dennis Prager. I don’t necessarily agree with all the conclusions Prager draws from his experiences traveling, but I think that’s kind of the point. The act of seeing the world and actually have conclusions to make is the purpose. Moving ourselves out of our insular bubbles, and sometimes, doing so in isolation, is important. I remember my first trip to Portland, my friend Walter insisted I see the Japanese rose garden by myself even though we were there together. It was a great gift. I needed to see that space by myself.

Leave a Reply

