End of Spring Break

Ah, Spring Break is at an end, and I’m hard at work on what I think will end up being a delightful essay on Frances Hodgson Burnett’s short story “Sara Crewe; or What Happened at Miss Minchin’s” and St. Nicholas, the monthly children’s magazine that published it. At least I’m having a good time writing it, always a good sign for an essay. I’ve worked leisurely on it all break, primarily reading Gretchen Gerzina’s biography on Burnett and articles in St. Nicholas. I’ve also watched an inordinate number of movies over the past few weeks; including The Adjustment Bureau (post forthcoming on it and Inception), Red Riding Hood (eh, umh, oh well), Beastly (great performances, so so script. I think it probably worked better as a book), The Lincoln Lawyer (I enjoyed it much more than I expected), Morning Glory (such potential, such underwritten roles. I mean Harrison Ford, Diane Keaton, and Rachel McAdams do their best with what they’ve got, but some screenwriter fell asleep at the wheel), and You Again (cute but again, underwritten characters).

Oh, and I also put an offer on a house and had it accepted. So an oddly relaxing and busy break. I’ll post house pictures once it’s officially closed on, and I can post before and after shots. It’s not in bad condition at all, just not to my tastes.

Leave a Reply

