Song of the Day: Cassettes Won’t Listen, “Freeze and Explode”

I admit, I discovered this band and song through the television show Chuck, which is not surprising given Josh Schwartz’s well documented use of music in his series–see The O.C. Cassettes Won’t Listen released a new cd this week, so I thought I’d post this song, and then I found the music video for it. I love the 1970s television news broadcast feel for the video for “Freeze and Explode.” Somehow the song fits a 1970s ethos or perhaps I just associate the 1970s with a certain style of white culture that the band so fully embodies for me. The facial expressions of the woman playing the co-anchor are fantastically pinched, especially when she moves from drinking the cup of coffee to the fake smile.

Leave a Reply

