Song of the Day: The Weakerthans, “Everything Must Go!”

One of my all time favorite bands, it’s been four years since I’ve seen The Weakerthans play live. I remember this well because it was the only birthday celebrating I allowed myself before I defended my dissertation three days later. At any rate, I’m in a cleaning out sort of mood–not atypical for me at the end of the summer and before the new term starts. I come from a long line of pack rats, and I find that I feel lighter when I just get rid of the stuff I don’t need, use, or want. I did some of this back in June when a friend had a garage sale, but it’s now July. In July, I almost always have the urge to throw out things, reorganize, and generally re-examine how I do things. Long summer days aren’t good for brain work, at least they aren’t for me, and I find that I do better in July when I try to finish projects verses begin them. Of course, reorganizing is messy to say the least, and I have more than a few projects to finish before the fall. But, I’m also working on being less hard on myself when not everything gets done. So, I’m working for messy not perfect.

Leave a Reply

