Song of the Day: Metric, “Synthetica”

I’ve always been a little lukewarm on Metric. I adore Emily Haines’s voice, but electronic rock can be hit or miss for me. Passion Pit is an obvious hit, if the fact that I can’t stop talking in embarrassingly teenaged terms about the band is any indication. Tween-speak praise is immanent, I’m afraid. Yet, Passion Pit is one of the few electronic rock (and they’re really more dance oriented) that I really like. I haven’t heard the new album yet, but I’m finding the title track from Metric’s new album Synthetica compelling. It even works as a bare bones acoustic strummer, always a good indication of strong song writing.

Leave a Reply

