The Ultimate Mashup

I’m a big fan of mashups and the general way the YouTube allows people to recreate and rethink popular culture. I still show the Twilight/Buffy the Vampire Slayer mashup in my comp classes.

Yes, it makes me giggle whenever Buffy asks Edward, “are you twelve?!?!” But, I keep on showing it because it is a perfect commentary on revision. It’s also the reason I show the Jane Austen Fight Club video or any number of Ok Go videos–all of them are creative ways of rethinking a text already in circulation. Gotye just added his own mashup to the mix.

He took the numerous covers of his song “Somebody That I Used To Know” on YouTube and mixed them together:

“Reluctant as I am to add to the mountain of interpretations of ‘Somebody That I Used To Know’ seemingly taking over their own area of the Internet, I couldn’t resist the massive remixability that such a large, varied yet connected bundle of source material offered.
”

This video is both a kind of tribute to the fans of the song as well as just good natured fun. I can see why Andrew Sullivan’s Daily Dish posted it as a mental health break.

Leave a Reply

