Commonplace: Ian McEwan, Sweet Tooth

“I’ve said I was fast. The Way We Live Now in four afternoons lying on my bed! I could take in a block of text or a whole paragraph in one visual gulp. It was a matter of letting my eyes and thoughts go soft, like wax, to take the impression fresh off the page. To the irritation of those around me, I’d turn the page every few seconds with an impatient snap of the wrist. My needs were simple. I didn’t bother much with themes of felicitous phrases and skipped fine descriptions of weather, landscapes, and interiors. I wanted characters I could believe in, and I wanted to be made curious about what was to happen to them.”

–Ian McEwan, Sweet Tooth

I almost read like this, except I also read the “fine descriptions.” I have a strange compulsion to read about spaces.

Leave a Reply

