Commonplace: Tina Fey, Bossypants

“When I worked at Saturday Night Live, I had a five a.m. argument with one of our most intelligent actresses. It was rumored that Lorne was adding another woman to the cast, and she was irate. (In fairness, she was also exhausted. It was five a.m. after writing all night.) She felt there wouldn’t be enough for the girls and that this girl was too similar to her. There wouldn’t be enough screen time to go around.

I revived my old argument: How could this be true if we made up the show? A bunch of us suggested that they collaborate instead of compete. And, of course, that’s what they did, with great success, once they were actually in a room together. But where does that initial panic come from?

This is what I tell young women who ask me for career advice. People are going to try to trick you. To make you feel that you are in competition with one another. ‘You’re up for a promotion. If they go with a woman, it’ll be between you and Barbara.’ Don’t be fooled. You’re not in competition with other women. You’re in competition with everyone

Also, I encourage them to always wear a bra. Even if you don’t think you need it, just…you know what? You’re never going to regret it.”

~ Tina Fey, Bossypants, part of my summer reading /I have to stop adding to the now three levels deep pile of books beside my bed.

Leave a Reply

