Tiny Desk Concert: The National

In the annals of career paths not taken, NPR music intern/reporter/guru is high on the list. Not that I knew there was such a thing when I was choosing career paths. (Nor am I really sure I chose this particular career path; I love books too much not to be doing something with books.) I know I say this every time I post a Tiny Desk Concert, but seriously, how does one get to be in the All Songs Considered office when these things get filmed if you’re not working there? This one pans out so you can see the crowd. Can they invite guests? Can I pretend to work or actually work for All Songs Considered for a day? I make excellent coffee, and the Holt copy machine has schooled me in the art of fixing paper jams. When I remember to speak at normal human speeds, I’m an excellent receptionist. Will someone please invite me along? Just put me in a back corner, under a desk. I just want be there once. Preferably when you invite Beirut back, but I’ll take what I can get.

Leave a Reply

