Tiny Desk Concerts: OK Go and Stars

So, one Tiny Desk Concert viewing led to three more. The above is OK Go lending their talents to helping NPR move offices. One of the reasons I adore OK Go, beyond the catchy synth pop, is because I think they have as much fun at work as I do. (Seriously folks, my dean has more than once said, not entirely in a joking manner, “and we pay you to do this.” Admittedly, that was in relation to my students wondering about the prevalence of prostitution in Victorian fiction.)

I’m obviously not the only one who thinks this; Amy Millan, one of the leader singers for Stars, actually says “I love this job” in the above Tiny Desk Concert. It includes two new songs from the most recent album and a pared down version of one of my favorite songs “Your Ex-Lover is Dead.”

And last Basia Bulat, one of my favorite singer-song writer folk singers. I like her because she’s not twee, and so much in the folk genre ends up in the earnest/overly sweet category–see She and Him or Mumford and Sons second album. I like earnest to a point, but only up to a point. The Lumineers walk that line for me, and I’m pretty sure their next album will fall over it. Basia Bulat manages to stay on the right side of the earnest line, thankfully.

 

 

Leave a Reply

