Song of the Day: Sam Phillips, “Reflecting Light”

Sam Phillips’s “Reflecting Light” is one of my favorite songs, probably somewhere right after Bill Evans’s “Peace Piece” and The Sundays’s “Here’s Where the Story Ends.” I’d say there’s a top five list, but I think that might be a little restrictive, not to mention the list tends to change depending on my mood, the year, etc. But “Peace Piece” and “Here’s Where the Story Ends” and “Reflecting Light” are always on that list. The song starts around the 3:30 mark, but I liked the glimpse of the stroh violin you get in this performance. I also thought Phillips’s song appropriate for a weekend filled with good friends, lots of food, 11 year old baseball, and super moons.

Leave a Reply

