Commonplace: Elizabeth Gaskell, Mary Barton

“I cannot think what possesses me, that I must always be wanting to comfort him when he’s downcast, and that I must go meddling wi’ him to-night, when sure enough it was his aunt’s place to speak to him. I don’t care for him, and yet, unless I’m always watching myself, I’m speaking to him in a loving voice. I think I cannot go right, for I either check myself till I’m downright cross to him, or I else I speak just natural, and that’s too kind and tender by half. And I’m as good as engaged to be married to another; and another far handsomer than Jem; only I think I like Jem’s face best for all that; liking’s liking, and there’s no help for it.”

~ Elizabeth Gaskell, perfectly capturing the disconnect between loving a person and the dangers of using love for social aspiration in Mary Barton

Leave a Reply

