Song of the Day: Lana Del Rey, “West Coast”

I’ve not yet been able to figure Lana Del Rey’s oeuvre out. It’s a little Amy Winehouse, a little neo soul, a little ironic, and sometimes down right weird, as with this video for a song I quite like, even if I find it a little disturbing. I feel like she’s pegged some of the emptiness of a certain kind of Hollywood life, but I think that life can be any place, not just in LA. It’s a life of striving just for fame and financial security by any means necessary versus real happiness.

Leave a Reply

