Song of the Day: Bat for Lashes, “We’ve Only Just Begun”

I admit, my knowledge of the Carpenters is predominantly from a made for TV movie called The Karen Carpenter Story, which was a pretty decent biopic in retrospect. I watched it at a friend’s house–I think the same night we also watch Doris Day’s Pillow Talk but not the same day we watched On the Town. At the time, I was mostly horrified by Karen Carpenter’s eating disorder and how it so tragically controlled her. I don’t know if it was intended to serve as a deterrent, but it decidedly didn’t glorify her struggle.

Leave a Reply

