Commonplace: from an interview with Anthony Bourdain

“Writers just writing about the food, you can only eroticize it so long. It’s all about other stuff. And I don’t think you can properly appreciate food if you’re not having some kind of sex, you know—occasionally. It doesn’t even have to be acrobatic, but other pleasures are important. It’s counterproductive, in fact: creepy food writing by people who are not having any sex, that can barely remember having sex.

In order to write well about food you need to eat well, and you cannot eat well if you’re analyzing the food. It’s not fun for the people you’re eating with and I don’t see how it can be fun for you. I spent 30 years in the restaurant business and I do not want to be thinking about if the bus boy’s doing his job. I don’t want to hear the bell in the kitchen. I don’t want to be thinking about what’s in that dressing. I want to be lost in the meal. I want to be a romantic fool.”

~Anthony Bourdain, interview here

One thought on “Commonplace: from an interview with Anthony Bourdain

Leave a Reply

